Local Taxpayer Supervisory Committee (LTSC)

Measure D, is the one-half cent transportation sales tax that was approved by Imperial County voters in 1989 and recently extended in 2008 by an overwhelming 81%. Since 1990, Measure D has generated more than $140 million for transportation improvement projects in each of our cities and throughout the county. In 1989, the Imperial County Local Transportation Authority (ICLTA) was created by the County Board of Supervisors as the Authority Board responsible to oversee the disbursement of funds and to ensure transparency and responsible use of resources.

In July 2010, the Imperial County Transportation Commission (ICTC) had accepted the responsibility for ICTC staff to provide the daily technical support to the ICLTA for administration of receipts and disbursements as allocated by the State Board of Equalization.

As mandated in the passage of the Measure D extension, the Local Transportation Authority (ICLTA), the Local Taxpayer Supervising Committee (LTSC) was created. The LTSC or “ICLTA Oversight Committee” focuses on two (2) goals:

  1. Review the performance of the sales tax transportation program through an annual audit process to ensure that all transportation sales tax funds are spent by the ICLTA in accordance with all provisions of the voter approved Expenditure Plan and Ordinance; and,

  2. Provide positive, constructive advice to the ICLTA on how to improve implementation of the program as well as conduct studies as authorized by the ICLTA.

The three members of the Committee must possess the following professional and/or community credentials:

  1. One member who is a professional, active or retired, in the field of municipal audit, finance, and/or budgeting with at least five years of demonstrated experience in the field of transportation in the public or private sector.

  2. One member who is a licensed civil engineer or trained transportation planner, active or retired, with at least five years of demonstrated experience in the field of transportation in government and/or private sector.

  3. One member who is a current or retired manager of major public and/or privately financed development or construction projects, who by training and experience would understand the complexity, costs, and implementation issues involved in building large scale infrastructure improvements.

LTSC members serve without compensation, except they shall be reimbursed for authorized travel and other expenses directly related to the work of the LTSC.

Current Voting Members

Joe Picazo
Retired County Deputy CEO - Budget & Fiscal
Tim Jones
Retired Civil Engineer
Robertta Burns
Retired County CEO

Member Bio

Joe Picazo is a retired Deputy CEO in Budget & Fiscal for the County of Imperial where he worked for over 11 years. Mr. Picazo has over 25 years of experience working in several finance roles. He has an extensive background working with various County departments developing budgets and maintaining financial records, including in Social Services, Public Health and the Clerk/Recorder Departments. Mr. Picazo is the Vice-President on the El Centro Medical Center's Board of Trustees, where he has been on the board for 9 years, and currently serves as the chairperson of the Finance Committee.

Timothy B. Jones is a retired Registered Civil Engineer and Licensed Land Surveyor. He was born and raised in El Centro attending Central Union HS, IVC and Cal Poly Pomona. He has taken all the course work for a Masters in Public Administration at SDSU Calexico campus in the mid 90’s. He was employed at private engineering/surveying companies, IID water engineering, 10 years as Director of Public Works for Imperial County and the last 10 years of his work career as a partner at JBL Associates. He is a member of the El Centro Noon Optimist Club since 1975, served on the El Centro elementary school bond committee for Sunflower site, City planning commission 9 years, IVAG and SAFE call box Executive Director and coordinated 3 of SCAG transportation plan updates. At the County he oversaw the development of the Gateway of America, county portion of the IV Mall, numerous engineering and surveying projects as County Engineer and County Surveyor, and operation/maintenance of 2640 miles of county roads.  

Robertta Burns is a retired Imperial County employee, ending her 31 year career as the County Executive Officer. She also was an Adjunct Professor at SDSU - Imperial Valley College in Public Administration for 15 years. She received her Associates Degree in Math from Imperial Valley College in 1971, her Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies in 1979, and her Masters in Public Administration in 1993. Robertta is an active member of her community, with active participation in the Kiwanis Club of El Centro, Imperial Valley College Foundation and the Imperial Valley Master Chorale (to name a few). Robertta was born in El Centro, has been married to her husband for 50 years, and has two daughters and one grandchild.

Current Non-Voting Members

Luis Plancarte
LTA Chairperson
David Aguirre
Executive Director
Karina B. Alvarez
County of Imperial Auditor-Controller